We are complete!

The past month has been filled with meeting astonishing people, learning the value of patience, and spending quality time with others. I am currently in San Antonio, Texas; the other two missionaries and I are still awaiting our Visas. It may take another few weeks. Yes, it has taken a long time but to be honest I did not expect anything less. The process of obtaining a visa for permanent residency in another country is very complicated and involves a series of processing steps by many different people in both countries. As for me, I have not minded the wait one bit. I am currently working and getting to know all of the sisters of The Incarnate Word Congregation here in San Antonio, where we are based. These women are more than phenomenal! They have hearts the size of this country! I have enjoyed so very much meeting more of them everyday; Ada, Tessa and I are currently living with two of the sisters whom we absolutely adore. Besides attending all of the events going on with the Congregation I have also been spending a lot of time working. I am assisting at one of the ministries called Visitation House founded by the sisters of the Incarnate Word Charity. The Visitation House is a two year transitional housing and education program that serves woman and children who are homeless. I could not be happier working there and serving for such a great mission; the placement is perfect for me. I do a variety of things including picking up the children from school, tutoring, managing donations, cleaning and more! In addition to helping out at the Visitation House I have also been attending meetings for Women’s Global Connection- the organization that Ada and Tessa are working with here in San Antonio and will be working with in Peru as well. Women’s Global Connection is an organization, founded by two of the Sisters of The Incarnate Word Charity, that promotes the learning and leadership capacity of women around the world. If you would like to know more about it, here is the link:

 http://wgc.womensglobalconnection.org/aboutus_mission_vision.html

On another note, I was able to visit home for a 10 day period; I just returned on Tuesday. My time at home was more than I could have asked for; my family is my greatest support and I love them dearly. I spent the time with my sister, brother-in-law, dad, Dawn, mom, Brian, Kassidy, and grandpa! I was able to spend a beautiful day camping with my boyfriend, Taylor, in Sugar Bottom, Iowa as well.

Today is an especially exciting day because Tessa, our third missionary, arrived from Ireland last night! Ada and I are filled with joy that we were finally able to meet her in person. Tessa completes our community of three! She is filled with just as much energy as us! We are excited to get the chance to live together here in San Antonio and later in Peru.

I shall end today’s blog with a haiku:

The world is a mess

But, forever there is hope

If your eyes are wide

Leave a comment